About CUT

The Cyprus University of Technology (CUT) is a newly established public university, which was founded by law in December 2003. It is one of the three state universities operating in the Republic of Cyprus. CUT has six Faculties and eleven academic Departments, able to offer education and high level research in primary fields of science and technology, at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Currently it educates about 3,000 students and includes an academic and administrative staff of about 700 people.

Although it initiated its research activity very recently, CUT already participates in a significant number of research projects funded by national authorities and European programmes such as Research Framework Programmes FP7 and Horizon2020 (including one prestigious grant from the European Research Council); the LIFE Programme; European Territorial Cooperation Programmes such as Interreg IIIB, Archimed, Interreg IVC, MED etc. The University has adopted research principles which conform to the European Union’s declarations on the creation of the European Research Area (ERA).

Despite its short history, the University has already been ranked 351-400th in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings in 2017-2018 and 2018-2019. Moreover, it has been ranked in the highly honourable 2nd place among the top 50 universities in New Europe, i.e the 13 countries who have joined the European Union since 2004. This highlights the University’s devotion to quality research and teaching, and motivates its staff for higher international achievements.

The University’s Faculties are:

  • The Faculty of Geotechnical Sciences and Environmental Management
  • The Faculty of Management and Economics
  • The Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • The Faculty of Health Sciences
  • The Faculty of Fine and Applied Arts
  • The Faculty of Communication and Media Studies

More information can be found at the University’s website: www.cut.ac.cy